top of page

Kid Koala - Vinyl Vaudeville Tour at El Club

Last Saturday in Detroit I had a chance to catch the Kid Koala “Vinyl Vaudeville” Tour. I arrived to the show a little late which I regret because the second I walked into the venue I saw a giant Trumpet, dancers performing on stage and a sea of people. I knew at that moment I missed an incredible intro! The trumpet eventually passed by me and I saw the people dancing and operating it as a giant puppet. Behind Kid Koala I saw two circular projections that had streaming live video of scratching and mixing – then I blinked and it turned into giant eyeballs watching the audience. In between the eyeballs a lit-up sign read “Vinyl Vaudeville.” The set was filled with music covering metal, jazz, rock, rap and more. At one point in the evening I was watching Kid Koala mix metal and I saw giant spiders walking above the crowd and then the mix changed mellow drum and bass grooves. At one point the dancers were holding giant laptops and Kid Koala spoke how his kids told him that using a laptop is the way of the future and then he premiered a song he created entirely on a laptop named…”Laptop!” Kid Koala had an outfit made by his family for the Yo Gabba Gabba tour he did with Biz Markie. So to introduce the outfit he performed the theme song for the show. Kid Koala also had the crowd form a spiral circle that, when in motion, turned into a giant record spinning. At the end of it Kid Koala crowned a young girl in the audience the Queen of the Konga Circle. Overall it was an incredible evening, I did not expect the range of music I heard, mixed with such a great show. I can safely say no matter what genre you’re a fan of, there is something at this show for you. On top of that, anyone can appreciate the performance this show gives you. 04/28/2018

bottom of page